Log in


11/14/2023 21:39 | AAC Board Admin (Administrator)

During the 20th annual Arizona Historic Preservation Conference held in Tucson, 10 honorees were selected for the Annual Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards.

Since 1982, the Arizona Preservation Foundation and State Historic Preservation Office have partnered to present the Governor's Heritage Honor Preservation Awards. The awards recognize people, organizations, and projects that represent outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona's prehistoric and historic resources.

The top honor of the luncheon, the James W. Garrison Heritage Award, was given to Pima County's restoration of Canoa Ranch. The award, named for a retired state historic preservation officer, is selected by Governor Katie Hobbs from all conference award winners. The Award is named for longtime State Historic Preservation Officer, Jim Garrison.

The 2023 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honorees are as follows:

  • Benedictine Apartments Rehabilitation Project, Tucson
  • Tohono Restoration – Conservation of Art San Xavier del Bac Mission, Pima County
  • Douglas R. Mitchell Lifetime Achievement
  • George Dvorak, Volunteer Fort Verde State Historic Park, Camp Verde
  • Jacobson House Rehabilitation Project, Tucson
  • Kiva Craft Center Rehabilitation, Scottsdale
  • Manning House Rehabilitation Project at Canoa Ranch, Tucson
  • Scott Newth, Volunteer, Sedona
  • Simpson Rowhouse Rehabilitation Project, Tucson
  • U.S. Customs House Rehabilitation Project, Naco

℗ ⓒ Copyright Symbol 2024 Arizona Archaeological Council 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software